Posted by: responsiblemom | November 23, 2009

Introducing Son #3

Michael gave me a bit more trouble than the others early in the pregnancy and again at delivery time.  His cord was not only wrapped around his neck, but it was too short even if it hadn’t been.  I had a torn placenta in the first trimester, and at 40 weeks, we began induction with frequent very low drops in heart rate.  I was a little impatient for everyone (docs and nurses) to get on with the c-section, as I was fully aware of the situation and what was necessary.  While the c-section was a success for Michael, who was smaller than the others but quite healthy, I on the other hand, did not have such a great recovery(but this post is about Michael – not me).

Michael was 7lbs 13 oz. and an all around healthy newborn.  He nursed well, and I began supplementing at about 4 months because he was not growing much and he was only at the 10th percentile on his growth charts.  Supplementing did not go well.  He would take yogurt and applesauce and nothing else.  Even getting him to take his medicine when he developed an ear infection was a nightmare.  When the Doctor said that if he didn’t start gaining weight they would have to admit him to the hospital I decided this was one battle I was going to win.  I spent 3 days literally nose to nose with Michael telling him “I love you Michael and you will eat this”.  Both of us did a lot of crying those three days, but it set the stage for better eating.  After that it usually only took a stern look and an “I love you,Michael” to get him to eat a healthy assortment of foods, and his weight and height crept up to the 25th – 50th percentile.

He is still quite small for his age, but definitely not slow.  He loved learning to read at age 2 1/2 and began ‘jogging’ with (okay – behind) mommy by age 3.  Absolutely adorable to watch.   Now, age 8, he is in running club, and when I can join them, I am definitely behind him most of the way.  He is also doing quite well in school.  When I tried to get him into kinder-garden the year that Joshua went into 1st grade, they wouldn’t let him because his birthday is October rather than September.  So I had him home with me for another year.  When I entered him the next year, I got called in for a conference with the Principle and Teacher after the first week, suggesting that they go ahead and move him up to first grade.  (And I didn’t even say “I told ya so!”).

I try not to call him the baby of the bunch, but lately I have noticed that he does a lot more crying than suits the situation at times.  I was about to call him on it yet again last night when I heard the boys horsing around in the family room.  Before I got headed that direction I heard Joshua shout – “HE’S BLEEDING!!!!”  Being a nurse, I didn’t get too excited – casually walked into the family room telling them to calm down.  One look at Michael and I had flashbacks of when Cathryn had ‘run into the entertainment center’ at age 3.  I had him lay down and held the gash together while sending the others on various errands so I could get a better look.  When Michael squeezed his eyes, and the would separated completely I decided a few butterflies would NOT be sufficient and took him to the ER where he got 9 stitches.  He took it quite well although he was visibly nervous the whole way there.  Now he is all about wanting to show it off.  It is right along his eyebrow above his right eye, and quite swollen.

It was interesting to see how each of the others reacted.  All wanted to be helpful, but their expressions were as unique as their personalities.  Joshua in particular used his ‘escape humor’ to cope, while Cathryn jumped into the task mode.  Benjamin was his usual sweet caring self.   An interesting little tidbit I didn’t expect and am not quite sure how to process, is that Joshua (who had been horsing around with Michael when it happened) decided he needed to pay Michael a dollar after we got back (which Michael readily accepted).  They announced it to me proudly, but I really didn’t know how to respond.

Anyone have any thoughts??? I’d love to hear them.


Leave a comment

Categories